Document Downloads

BIMDG Constitution (2023)

BIMDG programme for the inaugural meeting

BIMDG Vision

History and Aims of BIMDG


The BIMDG was formed in 1989.

The first annual meeting was in Bristol in May 1990 where the composition of the Committee was approved. The subject of that meeting was homocystinuria.

A constitution was written and approved by the AGM in the following year, 7 July 1991

Inherited Metabolic Disorders – A Service Vision for Setting Standards of Care and their Provision

Following a Workshop in the Autumn of 2002 in London it was agreed that it was important to set out a vision for how we should start to improve the provision of services for patients with inherited metabolic disorders. Continuing debate, through a number of draft documents, and discussion has meant a long gestation until we have arrived at this final version, published in Autumn 2004.

Committee Members

Dr James Davison

Deputy Chairperson
Dr Roshni Vara

Dr Donna Fullerton

Treasurer / Membership
Mr Robert Barski

Dietitian Representative (Paediatric)
Ms Rachel Skeath

Dietitians Representative (Adult)
Ms Louise Robertson

Nurses Representative (1)
Mrs Liz Morris

Nurses Representative (2)
Ms Mel McSweeney

Psychologists Representative
Ms Lynne Aitkenhead

Adult Clinicians' Representative
Dr Charlotte Dawson

Pharmacists Representative
Dr Faiza Adrees

Trainee Representative - Medical
Dr Shona Brothwell

Trainees representative - Scientific
Ms Jennie Freestone

Clinical scientists' representative 1
Ms Teresa Wu

Clinical scientists' representative 2
Ms Marianne Barr

Paediatric Clinicians' Representative
Dr Sergei Korenev

Paediatric clinicians' representative
Dr Alison Cozens

Paediatric clinicians' representative
Dr Julian Raiman

SSIEM corresponding member
Dr James Davison

Bulletin editor
Mr Greg Toulson

Lay Trustee
Ms Bernadette O'Reilly